The ABCs of Mark

A is for Age: Just turned 27. Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain, and Amy Winehouse all died at age 27, but since I don’t do drugs, I’m not that worried about it.

B is for Breakfast: Just had coffee this morning. Not the healthiest thing, I know.

C is for Current Craving: As with most Mondays, I’m right now craving getting back to the gym tonight and sweating out some of the less-wise dietary decision-making from the weekend.

D is for Dinner tonight: Grilled chicken, lima beans, and quinoa. Healthy and delicious!

E is for Favorite type of Exercise: Fusion class at our local gym. It’s a cross-training circuit, lasts about an hour, and really makes you sweat.

F is for irrational Fear: I would say snakes, but that’s totally rational, because they are evil.

G is for Goals: I’m at the age now where I have achieved many of the goals I would have had in college (get a job, get married, buy a house, etc…). This is the age of, “Ok, so now what?” Probably the next few big things will be moving up in my career, buying our next house in the suburbs, and having kids.

H is for Hometown: Atlanta. In fact, I’ve never had anything but an Atlanta mailing address.

I is for something Important: My wife, who epitomizes the phrase “my better half.”

J is for current favorite Jam: Got turned on to Wale recently, and I really like some of his stuff.

K is for Kids: Nope, not yet!

L is for Last time you received a present: My lovely wife framed my diploma for me.

M is for most recent way you spend Money: Gas at Costco. BORING, I know, but hey, I saved like 30 cents a gallon.

N is something you Need: Don’t tell Meagan I admitted it, but I need some new work pants. I have a tendency to endlessly put off buying new clothes.

O is for Occupation: I am a Technology Sales Engineer, which is not an actual engineer.

P is for Pet Peeve: The guy on the other side of my cube wall chews ice incessantly, and the crunching sound drives me NUTS. I have to put in headphones whenever he does it.

Q is for Quote: Someone told me recently, “It ain’t what you make, it’s what you keep.” Not a bad philosophy.

R is for Random fact about you: I once had two rows of teeth in the front of my bottom jaw. The permanents were ready to come in, but the babies wouldn’t let go. Needless to say I was a strong candidate for braces a few years later.

S is for the most random place you ever Slept: I take a long time to fall asleep, and so I very rarely nap. I’d say the floor of a friend’s house in college.

T is for favorite Treat: Cheese. Definitely cheese.

U is for something that makes you Unique:  Nothing really. I play the drums and a few other instruments, but I suppose so do a lot of people. I’d say what’s unique about me is the people and relationships in my life.

V is for favorite Vegetable: Never met one I didn’t like, but lately I’ve really liked Brussels. Steamed, or cooked in chicken stock.

W is for today’s Workout: Fusion class. Today is a “leg day”.

X is for X-rays you’ve had:  Mostly just dental x-rays, although I did get a back x-ray when I injured myself on a trampoline. That’s a long story. Wait, no it’s not, I sprained my back on a trampoline. At age 26.

Y is for Yesterdays highlight: Well, we just did chores all day, so the highlight was probably watching our Sunday night shows (Game of Thrones, Mad Men).

Z is for time Zone: Eastern, currently daylight savings. Really, that’s the last question? Time Zone? Let’s change it. Z is now for… “Favorite Zoo.” I’d have to say San Diego. Top notch facility they run there. Top notch.

Leave a Reply

